Skip to main content

Databases Tutorials: Ebsco EDS & Ebscohost Databases

Find links to tutorials, demonstrations, how-to guides, and other user aids developed by database vendors.

Ebsco Discovery Service (EDS)

EBSCO Discovery Service (or Ebsco EDS) is an all-inclusive search solution that makes in-depth research easy.  Through a single search, you can discover and access e-books, magazines, journals, and full-text articles.

Ebscohost Databases & Discovery Service

EBSCOhost provides multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases. The Library's subscription to EBSCO is geared to academic research.

EBSCOhost Databases:

  • Academic Search Complete
  • Business Source Complete
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
  • Ebooks on EBSCOhost
  • ERIC
  • Funte Academica Premier
  • HealthSource: Nursing/Academic Edition
  • Legal Information Reference Center
  • Newspaper Source
  • Political Science Complete
  • PsycARTICLES
  • PsycINFO
  • Religion & Philosophy Database
  • Sustainability Reference Center
  • Texas Reference Center
  • ...and more.

Ebsco Discovery Service (EDS)

This tutorial demonstrates the features of the EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) interface, including how to search for information of interest to you. An accompanying PowerPoint version offers the same helpful information in slides.

Ebsco Discovery Service (EDS) - Improving Your Search Results

This tutorial demonstrates how to improve your Ebsco Discovery Service (EDS) search results with limiters, expanders, and facets found on the result list screen. An accompanying PowerPoint version offers the same helpful information in slides.

Introduction to Ebscohost - Interface Overview

This video tutorial provides an Introduction to EBSCOhost. An accompanying PowerPoint version offers the same helpful information in slides.

Ebscohost - Basic Searching

This tutorial demonstrates how to create a Basic Search using an EBSCOhost database. An accompanying PowerPoint version offers the same helpful information in slides.

Ebscohost - Advanced Searching

This tutorial demonstrates how to use Advanced Searching in an EBSCOhost database with the Guided Style Find Fields. An accompanying PowerPoint version offers the same helpful information in slides.

Ebscohost - Citing Articles

This tutorial demonstrates how to use the Cite feature available on an EBSCOhost database. An accompanying PowerPoint version offers the same helpful information in slides.

*Please Note - The Library recommends using RefWorks for the most current citation formats. As of October 2019, the new APA 7th Edition is available in RefWorks. The electronic cite feature in EBSCO may format articles according to the 5th or 6th edition.  

Ebscohost - Using Search History

This tutorial demonstrates the EBSCOhost Search History feature, including editing a search, saving a search, and editing a saved search. An accompanying PowerPoint version offers the same helpful information in slides.

Using Persistent Links in Ebscohost Interfaces

This tutorial demonstrates the difference between expiring session URLs and Persistent Links, which can be saved to bookmark and share search results and articles in EBSCOhost.

Ebscohost - Creating Search Alerts

This tutorial demonstrates how to create a search alert on the EBSCOhost interface. An accompanying PowerPoint version offers the same helpful information in slides.

Ebscohost - Creating Journal Alerts

This tutorial demonstrates how to create Journal Alerts on the EBSCOhost interface. An accompanying PowerPoint version offers the same helpful information in slides.

Ebscohost - My Ebscohost Folder

This tutorial demonstrates how to create a personal My EBSCOhost folder account as well as the features of the Personalization folder. An accompanying PowerPoint version offers the same helpful information in slides.